Trinity County officials sworn in for New Year

 In the first days of the New Year, local officials elected by the citizens of Trinity County were sworn into their respective offices at the Trinity County Courthouse in Groveton, Texas. Among them were eight incumbents and one new official. 

Incumbent Woody Wallace, who defeated Richard Morris by a vote of 2,573 to 853, was sworn in as Trinity County Sheriff, and will continue overseeing countywide law enforcement. 

Of the County Commissioners, incumbent Grover "Tiger" Worsham, who defeated Carl O. Dyer by a vote of 694 to 344, was sworn in as Precinct 1 Commissioner. Incumbent Neal Smith, who defeated Larry Wars by a vote of 584 to 293, was also sworn in as Precinct 3 Commissioner. Together, Worsham and Smith will oversee countywide policy. 

Three of the four disputed Constable positions went to incumbents this year, including Precinct 3, which Carl Casey defeated Tom Hester for by a vote of 481 to 382. Precinct 2 Constable Mark Cole and Precinct 4 Constable Reggie Olive, meanwhile, ran unopposed and simply renewed their vows. The one Constable-elect who was not an incumbent, Tommy Park, was sworn in as the Precinct 1 Constable. Together, the Constables will serve county citations and assist local law enforcement. 

Bennie Schiro, who ran unopposed, was sworn into the office of Trinity County District Attorney and Joe Bell, who also ran unopposed, was sworn in as the Trinity County Attorney. Both will continue their service as the legal representatives of Trinity County. 

All representatives were sworn in with friends, family, and community attending at 10 a.m. on Jan. 3, except for Worsham, Smith, and Bell, who were sworn in on January 1.