Unofficial national, state, local election results announced

After months of campaigning and controversy, it was determined on November 8 after the General Election that Donald J. Trump is to be the 45th president of the United States. In Trinity County Trump garnered 4,737 votes to Clinton’s 1,154. According to a press release from Texas Secretary of State Carlos. H. Cascos, Texas had a record-breaking 15 million registered voters this year, a number that has grown substantially since the last presidential election, when Texas boasted 13,646,226 registered voters.

On the state level, Wayne Christian was elected to serve a term as the new Texas Railroad Commissioner. 

Congressman Kevin Brady (R) was re-elected as the United States Representative for District 8 in the March 2016 Primary Election.

State Representative Trent Ashby (R) was also re-elected in this year’s Primary Election as the State Representative of District 57. 

Three new members were elected to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, with Mary Lou Keel (R), Scott Walker (R), and Michael Keasler (R), being elected to Place 2, 5, and 6.

Barbara Cargill (R) was elected to serve as District 8’s member on the State Board of Education. 

 Three Texas Supreme Court Justices were also determined through the ballots, with Debra Lehrmann (R), Paul Green (R), and Eva Guzman (R), being elected to fill the seats of Place 3, 5, and 9, respectively.

Greg Neeley (R) remained in his unexpired term in Place 3 on the Court of Appeals District, while Brian Hoyle (R) was elected to serve alongside him in Place 2.

Several local positions, all of which will follow, were determined earlier this year during the March primaries. Kaycee L. Jones was chosen as Judicial Judge of the 411th Judicial District although, she faced a write-in opponent during the General Election, John Wells, and defeated him with 25,683 votes to his 3,206, with participating voters in Polk County, San Jacinto County, and Trinity County.Bennie L. Schiro will be returning as District Attorney of the 25th Judicial District.

In Trinity County, Joe Warner Bell was re-elected as County Attorney. Current Sheriff Woody Wallace was re-elected to continue his service. Lindy Madden Warren again secured her position as the Tax Assessor-Collector. Grover “Tiger” Worsham was again elected as the Precinct 1 County Commissioner. Tommy Park was elected as the Precinct 1 Constable.

The final item on the ballot in Trinity County -- the Trinity Independent School District’s $11,300,000 bond passed with 1,632 votes favoring the proposition in Trinity Co. and 949 against.

For more detailed information concerning state and local candidates, visit the Secretary of State’s website at